General presentation

The origin of the Neolithic and inherent economic, social and ideological changes, as well as their expansion worldwide is one of the most significant events in the history of humankind. The Neolithic constitutes a key theme in Prehistory and Archaeology, as it witnessed the development and consolidation of new social and cultural communities and the decline of the hunter-gatherer way of life.

This conference aims to be a meeting of researchers studying the early Neolithic in Europe and surroundings areas, in relation with the neolithisation process in the continent.

This process followed different rhythms and presented singularities in each geographic area, and was therefore a very complex phenomenon.

In order to address this scientific challenge, the conference is organised in nine thematic sessions:

  1. Neolithic spread and supraregional interactions;
  2. Chronology and modelling;
  3. Human–environment interaction;
  4. Population characteristics and dynamics;
  5. Territory and settlement;
  6. Subsistence;
  7. Technological processes;
  8. Funerary practices and
  9. Symbolism.

We positively welcome multidisciplinary approaches, regional syntheses and/or contextualised case studies.


Scientific committee

  • Jean-François Berger, Université Lumière Lyon, Département de Géographie
  • Amy Bogaard, University of Oxford, School of Archaeology
  • Annelou van Gijn, Universiteit Leiden, Department of Archaeology
  • Daniela Hofmann, University of Hamburg, Archäologisches Institut
  • Mattias Jakobsson, Uppsala Universitet, Department of Organismal Biology and Human Evolution
  • Christian Jeunesse, Université de Strasbourg, UMR7044 - Archéologie et histoire ancienne: Méditerranée - Europe
  • Goce Naumov, University Goce Delcev, Institute of History and Archaeology
  • Catherine Perlès, Université Paris Nanterre, UMR7055 - Préhistoire et Technologie.
  • Stephen Shennan, University College London, Institute of Archaeology

Organizing committee

  • Ferran Borrell, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Ignacio Clemente, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Miriam Cubas, Universidad de Oviedo 
  • Juan F. Gibaja, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Juan J. Ibáñez, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Niccolò Mazzucco, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Millán Mozota, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Ariadna Nieto, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Xavier Terradas, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona
  • Silvia Valenzuela, CSIC-IMF, Barcelona


Supported by

HAR2016-74999-P; HAR2016-75201-P;
HAR2016-76534-C2-1/2-r; Programa RyC

ERC-StG 716298